Opening hours Gallery: Wednesday to Sunday 12–5pm


Artists announced for Syllabus VI

Elsa James, Black Girl Essex: Here We Come Look We Here (2019) Tilbury Docks, Essex. Film still courtesy Andy Delaney

Artists announced for Syllabus VI

Ten artists have been selected for Syllabus VI, a national, collaboratively-produced alternative learning programme, delivered by Wysing Arts Centre, Cambridge; Eastside Projects, Birmingham; Iniva (Institute of International Visual Arts), London; Spike Island, Bristol; and Studio Voltaire, London.

The selected artists for Syllabus VI are: James Clarkson, Lauren Craig, Ufuoma Essi, Bettina Furnée, Olga Grotova, Helen Hamilton, Elsa James, Freya Johnson Ross, Daniel Trivedy and Sam Williams.

Now in its sixth year, Syllabus VI provides a learning programme for artists over a ten-month period and is supported using public funding from Arts Council England. Syllabus is developed collaboratively with the participating artists, the partner institutions and the artistic advisors, who this year are Jade Montserrat and Amanprit Sandhu.

The Syllabus VI artists work across a range of practices, from sound, filmmaking, choreography, sculpture and work in the public realm. Their work researches diverse topics such as archiving, the body, multi-species entanglement, race and representation, materiality, language and interfaces. The ten selected artists live and work across the UK, including Yorkshire, West Wales, the East of England and Greater London.

Syllabus VI is set to be markedly different from previous iterations of the programme. This year, the programme partners decided to make Syllabus free-to-access and to reframe much of the programme activity around contributions from the participating artists. Syllabus has also shifted to a hybrid online/offline model to contend with the challenges of Covid-19, with the programme consisting of multiple online meetings and shorter in-person gatherings at partner venues.

Download a press release

In partnership with